Changing TRV on radiator in loft

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, this is my first post on DIYnot. I'm a total novice so I hope you'll be kind on me!

I have a few questions I hope someone may be able to answer, all concerning a radiator in my attic room.

The radiator has a TRV fitted to it but it seemingly either kicks out full heat, or no heat at all, even when the dial is set at medium. Is this a faulty TRV?

If so I will need to replace it, and use the opportunity to decorate behind the radiator.

I have read tutorials on how to replace the TRV, which looks fairly straightforward, however I am unsure as to how to drain the system, or whether I need to.

We have a combi bolier and I'm pretty sure there are no bleed off valves, however there are two isolating valves on the pipes that leave the boiler.

Any help is much appreciated!

Sponsored Links
The radiator has a TRV fitted to it but it seemingly either kicks out full heat, or no heat at all, even when the dial is set at medium. Is this a faulty TRV?
Has it always been like this or is it a new problem?

If it's ongoing, the system may not be properly balanced; but, if a new problem, the TRV may be sticking.

Remove the TRV head - usually a knurled nut connects it to the valve body; no water will come out! This will expose a pin in the top of the valve. You should be able to push the pin down easily with a piece of wood and it should spring up when you release the pressure. If it sticking a drop of WD40 may help. If it is stuck down, a tap on the side of the body may release it; failing that use a pair of pliers to lift the pin - be careful not to bend it!

If the pin is free, the problem lies with the thermostatic head. You may be able to buy just the head on its own - depends on make.