Chrome pipe

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I seem to have a slight problem with Chrome coated copper pipe... I'm using it in a compression fitting with an olive and PTFE tape however I'm getting some very slight moisture from around the compression fitting.... I left it over night with just one drip on the floor to show for it and I'm sure this will 'heal' in time however a customer isn't happy with the issue as the floor is being tiled... I have limited experience with chrome pipe, is there an easy way to remove the chrome so I can use a solder elbow or would hemp be a better option

Thanks

Stuart

Sponsored Links
you shouldn't need ptfe anyway thats what the olive is for.
copper olives work better on chrome pipe but i've used both and been ok.

you can file the chrome off to fit a end feed fitting. but looks ugly if visible.

Hi

Thanks for the prompt reply... I never use PTFE tape when using copper pipe but as I've no experience with chrome pipe and the slight dampness I'm getting, it was just an option to explore.
The pipe will not be visible so will probably file the chrome off and put a solder elbow instead...

Hi

Thanks for the prompt reply... I never use PTFE tape when using copper pipe but as I've no experience with chrome pipe and the slight dampness I'm getting, it was just an option to explore.
The pipe will not be visible so will probably file the chrome off and put a solder elbow instead...

will it not tighten any more without over doing it ?
sometimes the chrome may have a nick in it and the olive don't seal fully.

or just take he chrome off and still use a olive.
do you not use any jointing compound ?

Sponsored Links
Give the fitting another nip up, save time and money.

Take it it is a chrome tail to the towel rad, would'nt be draining down for the sake of a weep.

will it not tighten any more without over doing it ?
sometimes the chrome may have a nick in it and the olive don't seal fully.