Compressor & Paint Spray Gun.

• Thread starter weegieavlover
  • Start date
W

weegieavlover

Hey All,

I have been doing a lot of stripping of the cornice in my livingroom. I have taken the rather drastic step and bought myself a used 24L air compressor to respray the cornice rather than painting it as it will be faster & finished better this way (so I am told!).

However I have never used a compressor or spray gun before! :eek:
But you got to learn sometime.

Anyway I have been looking at my compressor stats (collecting it tomorrow) and spray gun stats and I am a bit confused:

The Compressor I have bought has these figures:

Working Pressure = 116psi/8bar
Air Displacement = 7.3cfm/206L/min
Free Air Delivery = 5.4cfm/152L/min

Now I will be honest I do not understand these stats fully and nor do I know if they are that good, considering the money I paid for the compressor I think they are probably extremely average at best.

However when I look at spray guns I am seeing a lot of stats like this:

12cfm
50-70psi / 3.5-5bar
Requires 2.5hp/50Ltr compressor.

That is on screwfix and does not have a massive selection but that looks like it is of no use - would this be a correct conclusion? Or are these normal stats and I just need to understand (with your help) how a spray gun works with a compressor?

I mean will a spray gun always use more air than the compressor can provide?

Could someone in the know help a rather confused novice please.?

Where is a good place to get a spray gun (UK) and how do these figures from the spray gun compare to the compressor?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Col

Sponsored Links
Col, that spray gun uses more air than your compressor can deliver, I'm afraid....12 cfm sure is a lot of air, which is fairly typical for HVLP (high volume, low pressure) applications.
Most compressors will easily provide the working pressure that you need, but that spray gun will empty the reservoir tank very quickly.