computer running really slow

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone offer some advise please.

For the last couple of weeks we have been having trouble with out internet connection through both my computer and my daughters laptop.

You get connected and gradually over a period of about twenty minutes everthing gets slower and slower until evenutally pages will not load or you get a time out message. If you go through the unplugging and replugging regime then you will get connected again for a further twenty minutes or so. Getting really frustated with it. Have spoken to Virgin thinking that perhaps our modem was faulty or 'past its sellby date' but seem to spend ages on the telephone and get nowhere.

Any advise would be appreciated, bearing in mind that I am not very technically minded.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
i have the same problem. they told me to switch off the power and this worked, but the connection is still slow.

i do a speed test on the net and it always comes back around the 2mb mark so the connection seems fine.

could i have a virus slowing the system down. i have avg and pc tools spyware doctor. whenever this is run it always brings up tracker cookies which are minor infections.

anyone any ideas how to make it go faster?

Two possible causes come to mind:

1) ISP playing up
2) Virus/trojan infection sucking up the bandwidth

For case 1 you can take some "tracert" readings and email them to the ISP to look at, simply open a cmd window (type cmd into the Start->Run box), then type: tracert www.virginmedia.com

This will return a lot of numbers, they are essentially response times to each of the hops the connection has to go through from you to the destination. Typically, you should be seeing numbers like 10ms or 20 ms if your ADSL is very good. If only some of the hops are in the hundreds of ms or * (* denotes a timeout) then it is likely the problem is with the ISP only. If all the hops look bad, then the problem could be local or ISP!