1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Software

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by sosa, 10 May 2015.

  1. sosa

    sosa

    Joined:
    29 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I'm currently a small company with myself, an apprentice, and another electrician and currently i write down all apprentice, electrician and job hours in a book. As work is getting pretty manic i'm in the process of taking on another electrician and a electricians mate and so was wondering if anybody had some information on some software that i can use to make my life a little easier. Something that i can keep a record of hours on individual jobs and hours worked by employees mainly but am willing to look into something that also does invoicing and quotations?

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Essex1

    Essex1

    Joined:
    9 May 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try Workflowmax. It is an online software program.
     
  4. flyingsparks

    flyingsparks

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    1,300
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use workflowmax and find it very good. Only downside is there is no way to back up the data to my own PC, so if the company decided to jack it in, or went bust all my data is gone.. :unsure:
     
  5. cjard

    cjard

    Joined:
    6 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    2,335
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That probably isn't true in the "impossible" sense of "no way to", only in the "no provided way" senses

    As a software engineer Im reasonably confident that your data could be extracted from their site again, because anything your computer views on a site is downloaded, it just needs some transformation effort sometimes
     
  6. Diyisfun

    Diyisfun

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    7,236
    Thanks Received:
    282
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could use 'Excel', if you are familiar with it should only take a few minutes to design what you want, its simple to change & easy to manipulate the data.
     
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,799
    Thanks Received:
    1,953
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Missing data wouldn't be the issue in those circumstances - the problem is what to do with the backup, given that the site or application it came from would not be available any more.
     
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,114
    Thanks Received:
    3,136
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Except, sometimes, open it with Excel.
     
  12. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,114
    Thanks Received:
    3,136
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Under what circumstances will Excel not open a CSV file?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  13. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, sloppy post.
    I've seen apps create .CSV files which are just rubbish when opened with Excel.
     
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,114
    Thanks Received:
    3,136
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh, sure - as I wrote ....
    However, if they were rubbish when opened in Excel, they would presumably equally be rubbish when opened with anything else.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  15. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not necessarily - the rubbish I've encountered has been a formatting one, where somehow each field has ended up with two double quotes around it

    ""<field1>"",""<field2>"",""<field3>"", and Excel doesn't strip them out.
     
  16. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,114
    Thanks Received:
    3,136
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, but if that happens, and Excel can't cope, one has to use some other application to parse the data accordingly (for subsequent processing by itself, Excel or whatever). It's certainly not an unsalvageable situation.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  17. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, just a PITA
     
Loading...

Share This Page