Pathway to career change

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am looking for some information on training to become an electrician but whilst continuing my present work. I have a electronics degree and am working as a software engineer. Given the current climate and the tendency to outsource to India I am looking at a safety net if that all goes wrong. I have some experience in electrics.

Any ideas on methods to become a qualified competent electrician from my position whilst continuing work. Qualifications required (C&G or other), is part time or home learning available? Is on the job training required? Etc.

Also, once the qualifications are gained do you need to subscribe to any professional body in order to carry out and certify work done?

Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Harry

Sponsored Links
the current part-time route includes 2 evenings a week 3 hours an evening.
The course is 2330 level 2 and 3 will take 3 years to complete but understand this is going to change shortly, i think they are going to make it more difficult for someone who is not in the trade to enroll, I'm sure someone else will elaborate on that.
Then the next stage would be to get your 17th edition(BS7671:2008) and 2391/2392 inspection and testing, at that stage you would want to be doing some hands skills.
At the point you are deemed competent, you can join a domestic scheme provider, that will allow you to sign your work off, they charge about 500 pound a year to join. Depending which one you join, there's about five they will want you to have certain qualification, but if you have the above mentioned ones you should be okay.
Where abouts in Yorkshire do you live, I know they run courses in Huddersfield, Leeds and Keighley

Harry- your question comes up very other week on this forum, would you have a search inside the electrical UK part of DIYnot.

Try "how to become an electrician", "electrical training", "career change".