1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Connect BT Dropwire to CW1308

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by brooks693, 11 Sep 2019.

  1. brooks693

    brooks693

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have some old figure 8 dropwire coming into my house through my window frame.

    Each cable then goes into a jelly crimp joining it to some CW1308 cable that goes to my master socket.

    I need to remove the window frame as it's old an rotten, so will need to disconnect the cables and then re crimp them (and maybe put them through the wall and not the window frame).

    Is there a particular crimp I should use? Most look too small to take the dropwire unless it is stripped back.

    Cheers
    Andrew
     
  2. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are a few different sizes of the old Figure 8 dropwire, all of which I would say have too thick insulation to fit into a jelly crimp. How have they bodged it together at the moment, exposed copper outside the crimp? If it's dropwire 8, for example, then even the copper bit is too large to fit within the 'recommended' conductor diameters for BT-8A crimps.

    They should be in an enclosure of some sort anyway, so you'd be better off fitting a BT80A or BT80B junction box inside and not having crimps, because they are both 'screw terminal to IDC' connections, so will take any size incoming line.
     
  3. brooks693

    brooks693

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah there's a small amount of exposed copper outside the crimp.

    Is there a junction box that can be fitted externally? As there is not enough drop wire to come into the house for one of the boxes you listed above.
     
  4. brooks693

    brooks693

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BT66B is the standard outdoor box. Beware, they are normally sold empty, look at the extra item you need at the bottom of this page...
    https://www.millsltd.com/block-terminal-66b.html
    Block insert 1A. (or complete with insert 2A)

    Yowser, that does indeed look like Dropwire 8, the thickest one, which is the one I said should never be used with jelly crimps!! :mad::eek:

    Anyway, you see this ridge along one of them, circled in green...

    ridge2.jpg

    That is how you can tell which wire is which, seeing as they are both black. Don't be confused by what I've circled in red, that's just the remnants from the figure 8 being separated, they both have that, it's the extra ridge you are looking for, so you know that wire connects to white/blue.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. kgk86

    kgk86

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would be asking your provider to request that OR replace it from the DP with a complete new run of CW1308.
    I have managed to get this done quite easily recently due to customers having broadband issues.
    Aerial Wire No. 1 (I believe it was called) is not twisted so can cause issues with broadband performance.
    On one customers line we had an increase of 6mb on an FTTC line after replacement
     
  7. rsgaz

    rsgaz

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Thanks Received:
    425
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whether from a pole, or underground, it would be Dropwire 10b, not CW1308(internal only), for future reference.

    Dropwire No 1, or just DW1. There was also DW2, DW3, DW6 and DW8, all "shotgun" cable(figure 8 cable), none of which are twisted pair, so yes, OP, that's a good idea from @kgk86 if your broadband is cack.
     
    Last edited: 11 Sep 2019
Loading...

Share This Page