1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Connect Hive 2 to Vaillant 428

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by gpblitz, 18 Mar 2021.

  1. gpblitz

    gpblitz

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a Vaillant EcoTEC Plus 428 conventional boiler that I want to connect to a Hive 2 system to control the heating and the hot water.
    Now before someone moans that I should have searched for the countless posts on connecting a Hive system, I have and nothing relates to my seemingly strange setup.

    I attach the diagrams for the Wiring Centre 1 near the boiler and the Wiring Centre 2 in the airing cupboard showing the current wiring configuration. We have a Honeywell CM907 programmable thermostat in the hall downstairs which controls the heating only and then we have an old Honeywell programmer in the airing cupboard which controls the hot water.

    From what I can tell so far, is that I need to remove the hot water programmer and its wires that go to the WC2 and also the heating thermostat/programmer that also connects to WC2. But I am unsure what wires need to connect to the WC1 which in turn connects to the boiler. I believe it is the terminals 3 & 4 that need to connect to the Hive receiver, it is just I am not sure out of all these other wires what goes to the other terminals 1,2,3 & 4 of the receiver back plate.

    I am hoping someone can help me with sorting this out.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need to touch WC1.
    Fit your new Hive receiver where the old HW clock is.
    Connect the wires from the old clock to the same terminals on the Hive.
    L-L
    N-N
    1-1 hot water off
    Nothing connected to 2
    3-3 hot water on
    Now disconnect the old room stat red, yellow and blue wires in WC2.
    All you have left to do is connect terminal 5 in WC2 to terminal 4 of the Hive and your done.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. gpblitz

    gpblitz

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the swift reply, but I am locating the Hive receiver downstairs next to the boiler in the kitchen because I think it will get a better wireless signal there. Do I need to get a new cable down there or can I use some of the existing cable?
     
  5. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why?
    There are not enough wires in WC1.
    Just put it where the old hot water clock was.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The receiver is not wired into the boiler, it controls the motorised valve.
     
  8. gpblitz

    gpblitz

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just think the wireless signal between the receiver and the Hive thermostat would be compromised in the airing cupboard upstairs.
    But it is a good straight forward idea of your to get it up and running and see how it goes.
     
  9. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I fit them for British Gas I've done a few thousand now.
    Very rarely have problems with signal unless it's a massive house.
    If you do have problems you can get a signal booster.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. gpblitz

    gpblitz

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You are a top man Johnmdc.
    Thank you so much for your help.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page