connecting to a section of mis-shapen pipe

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A push-fit coupler that connects to the 15mm copper tail pipes on my Kitchen tap is leaking. I tried a new pushfit coupler but no luck and on closer inspection noticed that the tail pipe has been crushed so is not perfectly round. The problem is worse higher up the pipe (closer to the tap), so cutting won't help.

Is there any connection that can be made to a mis-shapen pipe? I'm pretty sure compression won't work - so basically I'm wondering whether a soldered joint (something I've never used before) will work? If not how are these tail pipes typically connected to the tap? Are they replaceable?

Sponsored Links
getting a replacement may not be so easy and a soldered connection would be the usual solution and it takes minutes with what a plumber would carry with him.

Tony

Thanks guys. I think I might invest in a gas torch and give a soldered joint a go first then.

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys. I think I might invest in a gas torch and give a soldered joint a go first then.

good luck with that.mate.

|Seriously, blowlamps aren't cheap, add in cost of consumables, and you might be spending more than a local plumber, especially if you can find a CC (lol). if you go down the diy route, and if you haven't previously done this, I would advise a test on some scrap.

|Seriously, blowlamps aren't cheap, add in cost of consumables, and you might be spending more than a local plumber, especially if you can find a CC (lol). if you go down the diy route, and if you haven't previously done this, I would advise a test on some scrap.

another doyle from screwfux

jeez :rolleyes:

Hmm... or i could get a new mono-block tap with tails for just £50. Just seems wrong to throw the tap because the pipes are buggered. Maybe I'll see how those tails actually connect into the tap first and take it from there. Thanks for reining in my enthusiasm.