Constantly bleeding...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, newbie here.

I've been in my house ~2 years, it was built in 1998 and has a boiler that heats the hot water and stores it in a tank (not a combi)
Since I moved in I had to constantly, maybe every 2 to 3 days, bleed 2 or 3 of the upstairs radiators. When the heating comes on early in the morning the noise the radiator in our bedroom makes a terrible gurgling/bubbling noise that wakes me up, I'm assuming it's air in it. The pump failed a few months ago so a plumber friend of ours replaced it. A few days later I saw one of valves either side of it leaking, top one IIRC. The plumber friends business partner came round and replaced those. Since then the gurgling noise is worse and I now have to bleed the same radiators every or every other day to keep the noise down. Since the plumber(s) visit, the bleed valve on a vertical pipe next to the hot water tank no longer works so I can't bleed that anymore, it's a type that you have to undo slightly to let the air out, I can see pliers marks on it so I'm thinking he's tightened it down too far and now it's stuck. I'm trying to find out where all this air is coming from, I can't see water dripping from any of the valves/pipes on any of the radiators so I'm a little stuck. 
Any help/advice would be most appreciated. 

Many thanks
Paul

Sponsored Links
Constant bleeding can either be a sign of a build up of magnetite in the rads or a blocked cold feed.
You could try the magnet test on the cold feed where it tee's into the flow pipe from the boiler to see if there is a blockage.
If there is the magnet should attract to the copper pipe

Thanks Armo74,

But I don't quite understand

the cold feed where it tee's into the flow pipe from the boiler

The boiler is fed from a small tank in the loft - do you mean the pipe from that to the boiler?

Although the system fills ok, it's just a couple of radiators need frequent bleeding