Consumer unit in garage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, my garage has electrics, but has not got a consumer unit. It has 1 light switch and 3 sockets and was wandering if I should install a consumer unit? Can anyone tell me which consumer unit I should buy and would i be able to install it as I am not an electrician?
Any advice would be grateful.
Regards Dave

Sponsored Links
Would it be safer to have some kind of circuit breaker in the garage or should I leave it as it is?

They aren’t really required. It’s good that the light has a suitable fuse if wiring thin.

Is the supply to garage protected by RCD ?

Sponsored Links
The supply is protected by RCD. I just wandered why it didn't have it's own unit in the garage. My garage is detached and my neighbour has a CU in theirs. Perhaps I don't need one.

Hi, my garage has electrics, but has not got a consumer unit. It has 1 light switch and 3 sockets and was wandering if I should install a consumer unit? Can anyone tell me which consumer unit I should buy and would i be able to install it as I am not an electrician?
Regards Dave
No you wouldn't be able to.

Can anyone tell me which consumer unit I should buy and would i be able to install it as I am not an electrician
No, because by doing that you will be making new circuits. Installing a consumer unit and adding new circuits are NOTIFIABLE events.
You'd need a registered electrician. But, as above, you dont need one.

Just a small question. The feed in to the garage, does this come from the house consumer unit? What size MCB is on this circuit and is it RCD-protected? Post a photo of the house consumer unit if you aren's sure!

This is the house consumer unit

Attachments

• 17112824289228521987483976879061.jpg
    17112824289228521987483976879061.jpg
    139.3 KB · Views: 29
Regards Dave
Just add a new way in your consumer unit and run separate light and socket circuits from it appropriately protected by rcd's