1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Cooker hob /socket question

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Londoner2, 8 Oct 2019.

  1. Londoner2

    Londoner2

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Having new kitchen fitted, and have a question re point for electric hob/socket.

    I'm planning on putting in a gas hob but in future may switch to electric, the builder has put in a power socket with a 6mm2 cable off a 32a ring main with a cooker isolater. He says in future if i want to switch to electric, just get electrician to pull out the socket and replace it with a cooker outlet.

    Is this ok?
     
  2. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,792
    Thanks Received:
    3,209
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  3. Londoner2

    Londoner2

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a plain yes????
     
  4. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    59,955
    Thanks Received:
    3,090
    Location:
    21st Century
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Yes, Sir.
     
  5. pbryd

    pbryd

    Joined:
    6 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not an electrician. Did he really install a 6mm ring main for an oven, I understand a 6mm radial would be enough for the job.

    He hasn't connected a 6mm to an existing ring main has he?
     
  6. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    6,961
    Thanks Received:
    835
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To clarify, he should have run one 6mm2 cable from the consumer unit to the new socket position - at the consumer unit this will be on it's own circuit - a 32 amp breaker. This is not a ring - hopefully that was a bad choice of wording.

    Why is your BUILDER doing this?
     
  7. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    59,955
    Thanks Received:
    3,090
    Location:
    21st Century
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    If he's really connected the socket as a spur to the ring, then, although it is OK for a socket, it must not be changed to a cooker outlet.
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,792
    Thanks Received:
    3,209
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I did take that to mean a new separate 'cooker circuit' - in which case my 'yes' stands.


    People think 'ring' is another word for 'circuit' and 'main' because it is 'the mains'.
     
Loading...

Share This Page