1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Cooker hood - can it plug into wall socket? And changing LED lights

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by DIYNotIan, 27 Oct 2020.

  1. DIYNotIan

    DIYNotIan

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    698
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    I'm looking to replace the cooker hood that was in the house when we moved in. I think it is well passed it, and it ain't too clean on the inside either!

    The existing one is plugged into a wall socket above the hood... Is this allowed and if not what might the problem be? Do hoods tend to come with plugs already attached?

    Regarding the lights, the manual says: "Replacing the LED Lights - the intervention of a specialised technician is necessary to replace them". Is this one of those belts and braces liability protection nanny state cover arses type things? Or are they actually difficult to change?

    The hood I'm looking at is this one:

    https://www.stoves.co.uk/products/cooking/hoods/sterling-chimney-900/

    Many thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,998
    Thanks Received:
    3,725
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, of course it is allowed.

    Probably not.

    Probably, but if you are able to do it then, presumably, you are a specialised technician but, of course, you will have no
    guarantee if it goes wrong.
     
  4. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,185
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course it is allowed to plug them in. They usually come with plugs.

    How easy the LEDs are to change I can’t say. More important will you be able to get a replacement when/if one fails.
     
  5. Fwad

    Fwad

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It might look nicer if you replaced the single socket with a fused outlet (something like this https://www.screwfix.com/p/crabtree...d-fused-spur-flex-outlet-with-led-white/973hv ) then you can do away with the bulky plug
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    66,704
    Thanks Received:
    3,642
    Location:
    Coastal
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    If the socket is above the hood, and the hood is correctly placed at a height where the user cannot bang it with their face, the socket will not be visible to people without a stepladder, so its visual beauty does not arise.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,621
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you provide a link to these lights.
     
  9. DIYNotIan

    DIYNotIan

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    698
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all the replies - much appreciated.

    That's good news RE the plug, and I've no problem fitting one myself if it doesn't come already attached. Whether that effects the warranty or not I don't know, but if both options are viable I can't imagine it would.

    It will indeed be quite out of the way where it is now. From many angles of the room it can't be visible, and from those parts of there room where it can be seen there are far nicer things to be looking at :) So aesthetics aren't so much of a concern, it was more a case of regs due tot he fact it is a kitchen and above a source of steam. Being above the hood itself though means the steam shouldn't hopefully be getting up there!

    RE the lights. @winston1 - that was a good point so I've looked into it... Twenty flippin' quid for a single replacement! Unbelievable. OK, so I think I've found them for closer £16 but that's still a heck of a lot. I hope they do last longer than standard, as per the claims. I'm not sure, but I think the whole thing would need replacing rather than just the bulb. What do you guys think?

    Here's a link to the official Stoves page, but unfortunately there is no photo...

    https://www.stoves-spares.co.uk/lamp/product.pl?pid=5300216&query=444410237

    A couple of other places that have it...

    https://www.espares.co.uk/product/es1786942/cooker-hood-lamp

    https://www.buyspares.co.uk/stoves/...d=4817357&shop=stoves&path=264646&refine=lamp

    Thanks again
     
  10. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,185
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fitting a plug to bare ends effecting the warranty! Now I’ve heard it all!
     
  11. DIYNotIan

    DIYNotIan

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    698
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Haha - fair enough! I just know what some companies (and insurance firms) can be like with the disclaimers and the "we're not paying you that because of this" get out clauses. So I was thinking more if the hood came with cable attached to some kind of connector (for it then to be added to a spur) - and that's what they designed it for - whether they then might not allow snipping that off to add a plug instead.

    All that being said, I'm happy to concede I'm overthinking it and move on :)

    (Lockdown = plenty of thinking time!)
     
    Last edited: 28 Oct 2020
  12. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    3,474
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The LED lamp inside that fitting looks as if it is probably a standard one, so the lamp alone ought to be easily sourceable cheaply. Manufacturers rarely go to the trouble of making something special, which is already freely available in the market, without a very good reason. All you need to know is the lens diameter, the voltage + wattage and the type of pins at the rear, to source one.
     
Loading...

Share This Page