1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Cooker Hood has plug at the end, though my connection is hardwired? Help!

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by zenonithus, 7 Jul 2018.

  1. zenonithus

    zenonithus

    Joined:
    15 May 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey all,

    I bought a cooker hood and when I went to install it realised it has a 3-pin plug at the end! I have a grey wire sticking out of the wall with neutral and live only (no earth) so it needs to be hard wired. Would this be a case of cutting the plug off and using a wire connector to connect both wires up? Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    2,224
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the hood class 2 (symbol of square within square on label)? If not it must be earthed.
     
  4. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,067
    Thanks Received:
    4,032
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Where does that grey cable come from?

    Is there a Fused Connection Unit nearby - with or without a switch?
    upload_2018-7-7_15-23-20.png

    Plus - I would think there is an earth which has been cut.
     
  5. zenonithus

    zenonithus

    Joined:
    15 May 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys, thanks for the speedy reply. DetlefSchmitz unfortunately I cant seem to see that symbol anywhere. Here are some pics of the specs. There is an earth wire inside the hood as seen in the middle pic.

    EFLImpudence the grey cable (neutral and live) goes to exactly that, a fused connection switch with a 13amp inside.

    cookerhood.jpg
     
  6. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It must be earthed.

    If you really do only have a 2-core cable from the FCU then you'll have to replace it with 3-core.
     
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,067
    Thanks Received:
    4,032
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    The diagram shows that it does need an earth.

    It would be better if you could connect the hood cable to the FCU - it doesn't have to be buried.
    Disconnect the existing cable and remove it and cut off the plug
    There should be an earth in the FCU.

    Is it in a convenient place to do that?
     
  8. zenonithus

    zenonithus

    Joined:
    15 May 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The FCU has earth wires connected up to it. EFLImpudence I cant do that unfortunately. The grey wire connected to the FCU is buried inside the wall and quite far apart. I remember the old cooker hood very similar to this one had a wire connected up to the grey wire in the wall, which is why I'm wondering if they just cut off the plug and connected it up. I'm guessing a hard-wired hood the grey cable would go directly into the motor?
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,067
    Thanks Received:
    4,032
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok.

    May be.
    That would be alright, perhaps that one didn't need an earth.

    Unfortunately the new one does.
    Examine the cable to see if there is a cut earth wire between the other two wires.
    If there is you will have to dig out enough cable to access the earth.

    If not - some other way.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. zenonithus

    zenonithus

    Joined:
    15 May 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So does this mean the plug/wire for the new cooker hood has an earth running through it? Why would there be an earth wire inside the hood? I might take a closer look at the connection, though If the wire is just neutral and live is it safe to assume I can just connect those up to the neutral and live on the grey wire? Though from the specifications people are saying there is definitly an earth wire running through the cooker hood wire is that correct?
     
  12. zenonithus

    zenonithus

    Joined:
    15 May 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually ignor that! I just removed some electrical tape from the grey wire and it does indeed have an earth wire included :) so does this mean it is possible to connect? Though will the cooker hood wire definitly have an earth inside if I cut it off?
     
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,067
    Thanks Received:
    4,032
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Good. All is well then.

    Yes.
    Make sure it is connected in the FCU.

    Yes.

    You could just use connector block as it is up out of the way, but one of these (or similar) would be much better -
    https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/ASJ501.html

    upload_2018-7-7_16-18-14.png
     
  14. yorkspark

    yorkspark

    Joined:
    6 Mar 2011
    Messages:
    177
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this then needs sleeving and connecting to the earth terminal in the joint box

    so:_
    1. chop plug off cooker hood
    2. fit joint box onto grey cable using line, neutral and earth into the respectable terminals
    3.strip flex and terminate cores into the joint box matching the colours to the respectable incoming cable
    4. enjoy
     
  15. zenonithus

    zenonithus

    Joined:
    15 May 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers guys, ok will cut the plug tomorrow, fingers crossed. As for the FCU it looks to have 4 earth wires plugged in. It looks to be part of a circuit with the sockets and oven switch as I remember the FCU did not power when the sockets weren't wired up to a socket switch. Looking at all the grey wires their earths all seem to be connected up so hopefully this means the one for the cooker hood is connected somewhere at the other end.

    DSC_0183.JPG DSC_0182.JPG
     
  16. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,651
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does look like its connected then, although a closer look to confirm would not go amiss, it lookes like the 4 earths in the fcu are two from the ring, one from the outgoing cable, and one to tag the backbox (not always fitted). If you look on the back of the FCU, there are a brown and a blue each on their own in terminals, this is the outgoing side, the incomming side will have a pair of browns which share a terminal and a pair of blues which share another terminal. If you follow the ones on their own (outgoing) you'll see which grey sheath they go into and can then check that the earth that goes with them is also connected to the earths. But as I said, four of them would suggest it is
     
  17. zenonithus

    zenonithus

    Joined:
    15 May 2016
    Messages:
    304
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info Adam. It appears all the earth wires in the grey wires are plugged in. The earth wire in the cooker hood hard wire is bare and bent back suggesting it might not have been used for the previouse hood.
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page