cscs cards

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
ok peeps i have for the last 9 years been working in a school environment part of a dedicated maintenance team covering all aspects of building repairs and projects etc(im a carpenter),as you plumbers and sparkies have to keep on going back to college for refresher courses(because you guys have small brains) :D as your qualifications are regularly updated and us hatchet mens brains are full of saw dust ;)and(i)ours do not(i obtained mine 20 years ago), is there any reason you can see for me to obtain one of these cards?or is the card purely for site use?.

is the card used purely to prove the holder can show a certain amount of competence in there trade?

Sponsored Links
is the card used purely to prove the holder can show a certain amount of competence in there trade?

No..you can get a site visitors card providing you pass the HS test.

there a joke and do nothing to stop cowboys, another money making scheme

Sponsored Links

have to disagree, whoever has one has past a health and safety test so atleast they have more of a clue about safety.
they come in different colours red, blue, gold, silver and probably a few others, labourers,trainees,skilled worker and tradesman cards.
they show what quals you have so it cant be a bad thing.
things are tight in the building game at the minute and these cards give you a better advantage than not having one
when it gets worse i can see them asking what colour card you have
before they employ you. You can be assesed if you havent got the quals and be given a nvq level 2 to get a skilled workers card, its quite easy phone CITB and pay your money and away you go. A lot of firms will get onto how easy is to get level 2 so they might only take on level 3.

nvq level 2-3?(showing my age here :confused: )im city&guilds carpentry&joinery plus advanced craft,nvqs were just being launched when i done my training at college.