Curtain rail pulled down - advice needed for DIY novice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Apologies for such a basic question but I am a real novice at anything to do with DIY. Basically, my son has pulled down his curtain rail and one side of it has come away from the wall, the other side is still very solid. I have temporarilly re-inserted the rail but it is very loose.
I will have to polyfill the hole and re-drill the wall plugs etc - I guess though that drilling back into a polyfilled hole is not the way forward - it will not be strong enough. Therefore, do I have to go slightly higher or lower to drill into proper brickwork? If so, will I have to re-do the other side, which is solid at the moment, in order to get a straight curtain rail?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
in my experience,its down to the decorator that put the filler in.
if hes/shes done it properly it will have good adhesion to the brick and be ok.
if not it will crack into twenty bits and end up all over your boots,he/she will then try and say that was your fault :rolleyes:

seriously though,if your worried about it,drill not on hammer through the filler,go deeper and knock the plug past the filler into the brick.then use a longer screw.

or,drill the hole how i decribed and start the screw off,then fill and do up when dry.
basically,gopast the filler

most important question: How far did the old screw go into the wall?

second most important question: what is the wall made of at the point the screws go in? (there may be a concrete or steel lintel above the indow, probably about 7" high)

third point - just a tip - no need to go higher or lower, you can normally move the fixings sideways a bit and go into a fresh bit of wall at teh same height IF we find you can't re-use the old position.

Thanks everyone for the advice, I have been away so will look at how far the screw went into the wall. From memory it looks like it was brick that I drilled into before.