Cutting granite

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone

I am planning to build a BBQ in the garden, and part of the design involves granite trim and side table. I am a total DIY novice, i dont yet own any tools and have a lot to learn

I'm wondering what tools i should buy to cut the granite to size. Would an angle grinder be appropriate? can i attach and drum wheel to an angle grinder?

Sponsored Links
Granite can be cut with a good quality diamond blade.

A 9''grinder is fine but a stihl saw with clutch would be safer though if you have access to one. The water suppressor on a stihl saw also helps reduce chipping on something very hard like granite.

If you need to profile or chamfer it a diamond grinding cup in a 4'' grinder is the best tool.

Granite can be cut with a good quality diamond blade.

A 9''grinder is fine but a stihl saw with clutch would be safer though if you have access to one. The water suppressor on a stihl saw also helps reduce chipping on something very hard like granite.

If you need to profile or chamfer it a diamond grinding cup in a 4'' grinder is the best tool.
Thanks for the response

I'm afraid i dont know what you mean by 'profiling' so could you please explain?

Also, from videos i've watched online it shows water being poured via hose or sprayed, i assume to cool the blade, is this possibly a electricity hazard?

You wouldn't do a wet cut with an electric grinder, unless you're very brave/skilled or very stupid. The wet cutting you've seen will more likely be with a petrol saw, air saw or an electric saw specifically designed with a water feed (and appropriately insulated so the chances of water coming into contact with live parts is remote - a £20 angle grinder from B&Q absolutely will not be designed this way, and there's a significant risk of death attempting to use one for a wet cut)

You'd probably be best off hiring the appropriate equipment:

Don't do what this bell-end does: