Danfoss tp5000si thermostat display problems

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by ross sears, 1 Dec 2021.

  1. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My Danfoss tp5000si display has all of a sudden stopped displaying the time and intstead shows only 2 dots flashing where the time normally is and also the temperature, which when i first looked was down at 5c. I moved to temp upto normal 20c and it switched on and the heating came on as normal. But it seems to be switching on and off very quicklky. I have tried all the resets from the manual and nothing happens. Tried the batteries also nothing happened. I have 2 of these thermostats in our 3 story house and the upstairs 1 is working normal, although i did recently change the lower temperature up a little bit. Will this have an affect? Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: 1 Dec 2021
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. DP

    DP

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2003
    Messages:
    15,172
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Press the up and down button together once and see if issue resolves
     
  4. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried that. Nothing
     
  5. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Going to shut the whole system down for 10 minutes see if the issue resolves
     
  6. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,742
    Thanks Received:
    2,665
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you use good quality alkaline batteries?
     
  7. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I put rechargeable ones in. Bad idea? Going to look for good batteries, although the low battery symbol never appeared.
     
  8. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,742
    Thanks Received:
    2,665
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’m not sure with that, but always told to use good quality alkaline ones. I have customers who try to change them for the cheap zinc batteries.
     
  9. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    9,561
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, bad idea. Rechargeables have a lower voltage than decent alkalines, so will cause a low battery warning.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Changed for good alkaline batteries, still the same issue.
     
  12. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thanks for the info, didn’t know that. I changed for normal alkaline and still jo result
     
  13. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    9,561
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Might the instruction suggest the flashing indicates it has lost pairing with the receiver - maybe needs repairing if a wireless unit?
     
  14. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a wired unit
     
  15. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    9,561
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, strange that it should need batteries - what does the manual suggest the flashing might be?
     
  16. ross sears

    ross sears

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It doesn’t say anything about it, I can’t find any troubleshooting information anywhere! I think it’s wired not the system but not powered by it, because when i turn the mains off to the heating system the thermo is still on.
     
  17. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,742
    Thanks Received:
    2,665
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On the contrary, quite a lot of hard wired thermostats use batteries, especially ones that do not require a neutral wire.
     
Loading...

Share This Page