dense expanding foam to fill 20mm square section tubing 400mm long

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am looking for recommendations for a really dense expanding foam that I could use to fill lengths of 20mm square section tubing to a depth of 400mm.

Would also be grateful for advice on best method of application to ensure I reach the desired depth (and without getting expanding foam everywhere - I've never used it before).

Many thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
A depth of 400mm? Do you mean length rather than depth?

I used to purchase the cans of expanding foam that had the nozzle included. One day, I purchased a gun to use with gun grade foam. The gun was a tenner, but it allowed me reduce the rate at which the foam was expelled. It really was a game changer.

I no longer buy expanding foam unless I additionally buy a can of (acetone) gun cleaner.

If you mist the areas to be filled, it will improve adhesion and speed up the curing times.

Hi @opps - thanks very much for your response. Really appreciate it.

Yes, sorry, 400mm length, not depth.

Interesting I had seen the gun variety but wasn't sure. That definitely sounds like the right way to go to avoid shooting the foam all over everywhere.

Are any foams more heavy / dense than others ,do you know? Or are they all basically the same substance made by different manufacturers?

Many thanks again!

Are any foams more heavy / dense than others ,do you know? Or are they all basically the same substance made by different manufacturers?