Digging foundations and raising ground level

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dear forum,

I am about to start digging the foundations for a building (7m x 9m) and could do with some advice on what to do with the soil that is dug out.

The location makes it very difficult to get rid of the soil.

We had to raise the height of the garden by about 8 inches in order to keep the soil pipe underground in order to accommodate the drop. So the area that the building will go onto is actually 8 inches lower than the rest of the garden.

Seems like the obvious thing to do is to spread out the soil evenly across the area to level the ground and also raise it by the 8 inches.

I have zero experience with this sort of thing so interested to hear if this is a normal thing to do or what, if any problems it may cause?

Appreciate your assistance

Sponsored Links
Depends on your ground. Up here there's usually a foot or so of earth, then you hit clay. Spreading the earth around the garden is fine (up to you whether you riddle it to get stones and pebbles out), if you are building up ground level next to other buildings make sure you aren't compromising dpc, air bricks etc. The clay - don't try spreading that around, you'll end up with a claggy undrainable mess of a garden.
Also don't try and cheat pd requirements by lifting ground level so your building can be higher.

Dear forum,

I am about to start digging the foundations for a building (7m x 9m) and could do with some advice on what to do with the soil that is dug out.

The location makes it very difficult to get rid of the soil.

We had to raise the height of the garden by about 8 inches in order to keep the soil pipe underground in order to accommodate the drop. So the area that the building will go onto is actually 8 inches lower than the rest of the garden.

Seems like the obvious thing to do is to spread out the soil evenly across the area to level the ground and also raise it by the 8 inches.