Dimmer Switch not working

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi peeps,

My dimmer switch isn't working and I'm looking for some advice before replacing as I'm not sure if this will fix the problem. I'm a DIY amateur but can change a light and dimmer switch but as say, don't want to do that as unsure if that will fix the prob.

I have a dimmer switch in my sitting room. It's been there since the property was built and was installed by builders. I fitted a 5 light to the ceiling which used 5 x G4 12 volt bulbs. Pushing the dimmer switch brought the light on/off but the dim function (turning the button) wouldn't work and the switch buzzed louder than usual for a dimmer switch when I tried to dim.

A search on google made me think that the switch might not be suitable for halogen? Don't know if this is accurate or not.

Anyway, I recently changed light again to a 3 x E14 candle bulb light type. I thought that would solve the problem but it hasn't, it still won't dim.

When I try to dim it seems to be just bright or very faint glow which flickers and after few seconds just goes out. I then need to switch the dimmer off/on again and it still only goes to totally bright or very faint glow and then switches off.

As it was fitted when property was built I don't know anything about the switch, just seems to be a standard dimmer. I've fitted dimmer switches in previous home which worked no problem, they were just bog standard dimmer switches from B&Q. Light in previous property was similar to current (3 x E14 candle bulb fitting).

I am unsure if replacing dimmer would work and before did would be really grateful for an idea of what I should get.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Julie.

Sponsored Links
Do you know if the transformer on the first 12volt light was of the dimmable variety ?

What is the wattage of the lamps in use now ?

Do you know if the transformer on the first 12volt light was of the dimmable variety ?

What is the wattage of the lamps in use now ?