1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Dimplex Opti-Myst fires

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Neil B, 13 Feb 2010.

  1. ctsamados

    ctsamados

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for this I'm going to see if I can just buy the disc or transducer from them as I'm pretty sure there's nothing wrong with the sump.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Andy6748

    Andy6748

    Joined:
    18 May 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got a Cas400NHLL second hand, all worked well for about 30 minutes then turned itself off. So I investigated and ended up buying a new Transducer and fixed the problem. The old transducer looked a bit scruffy so went the whole hog and got a new one instead of messing about.
     
  4. rckybrook

    rckybrook

    Joined:
    23 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought the Evandale Stove from Next in march '18. It worked just fine, and i followed the instructions, cleaned it etc, and bought a brita water filter jug expecially for it, as I'm in a very hard water area. It lasted just fine until the smoke stopped working in April 19, days out of warranty. I phoned Dimplex, and they sent me out a new transducer free of charge as a goodwill gesture, and this sorted the problem. OK.

    At this time, I was realizing that these stoves may be very expensive in the long term - the brita water filters are about a billion pounds each alone, let alone a 50 quid transducer every 6 - 12 months; so I bought a 3 quid transducer off ebay at that time to experiment with - of course of the correct voltage(24v).

    The new transducer that Dimplex sent out lasted 4 months I think before the smoke virtually dissappeared(it wasn't the fan, I checked all this). So out came the 3-quider off ebay . .

    The diameter is too large to fit in the little sump recess - the dimplex ones are smaller - so I just sat it in the sump itself: but the sump recess/cup is 7 - 9mm lower than the floor of the sump, so the new transducer was not sitting as submerged as the original(although the unit itself is not as tall). To remedy this, I had to raise the water level in the sump by a centimetre or so, so all I did was put a packer of that thickness between the orange tank and where it sits - and this simply raises the water level exactly by that much. I used a piece of wood, simple.

    The plug on the transducer did fit, but the cable was far too long, so i just wrapped it up and tucked the excess away inside.

    Turned it on, 30 seconds . . . beautiful, thick smoke, just like when the fire was new!! Perfect!!

    Now . . all that faffing about cleaning the tank every 14 days . . dismantling it to do so . . . sod that for the sake of a 3 quid transducer!!? And a billion pound brita filter every 30 days?? Sod that, it'll have tap water and it'll like it.

    So I never cleaned it, or dismantled it, and just filled it straight from the tap: and it worked perfectly for 15 months. And still works.

    Part of me suspects that all that dismantling, and handling, dropping, jarring, and general disturbance may be the very thing that reduces the life of the transducers, and of the whole thing in general . . I've ordered some spare 3 quid transducers. Iv'e got 2 back ups in the cupboard.

    I AM NOT IN ANY WAY ENCOURAGING OR CONDONING THE USE OF NON GENUINE PARTS, OR OF TAMPERING WITH ANY ELECTRICAL PRODUCTS AT ALL. I AM NOT RESPONIBLE FOR ANY DECISIONS YOU MAKE OR ANYTHING YOU DO
     
  5. SimonH2

    SimonH2

    Joined:
    4 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    5,777
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is a known issue in all sorts of areas - that the very act of performing maintenance can create problems that wouldn't have happened otherwise.
    Of course, there is another possible explanation, and one that's supported by the length of this thread ... the transducers used by Dimplex (or the way they are used in the device) are rubbish.
     
  6. rckybrook

    rckybrook

    Joined:
    23 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree: from what I can see, the dimplex 50 quid transducer is no different to the 3 quiders I now buy. They just charge an outrageous premium, partly for the reduced diameter they seem to(deliberately) have compared to all the ones on ebay, and partly because few people will figure things out and mess around trying to find alternatives like I have.

    And all that ludicrous faffing around cleaning and dismantling every 14 days?? At 4 quid a pop(they've gone up:(), I'd rather just replace the transducer when it dies, and clean out the system at that time. Every 15 months(so far) . .

    All in all, once you know all this, they are a great fireplace for those of us with just electric and no chimney.
     
  7. Billy2518

    Billy2518

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Mate do you have the item number for the transducer that you have purchased!! At present my lights come on for 30 seconds I get a click then it all goes off!! The transducer is not bubbling and the fan is not coming on but I’m not sure if it’s because the transducer has had it!!
     
  8. rckybrook

    rckybrook

    Joined:
    23 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got it off ebay, there's quite a few on there, but I will tell you this: when the transducers die, the fan comes on for the first 30 seconds, and I presume it stays on for 30 seconds, then it beeps and displays code CD01 - BUT the lights do not go off
    [​IMG] this was it
    Which model do you have? Is it LED or halogen lights?
     
  9. Billy2518

    Billy2518

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the halogen lights mate to be honest I barely have it on but I thought I would try it out tonight and nothing!! Lights come on but no fan noise or transducer. I wonder if I can buy a spare fan which is easy to plug in! The costs are ridiculous!! For a piece of kit that isn’t hammered it doesn’t last long!! Is there any chance you could copy and paste the item number from ebay for the transducer
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Tony Whiteley

    Tony Whiteley

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Reading all your comments has been a great incentive for me to fix my own 10 year old Optimyst. I have done lots of testing over the past few days and have determined that my fire's problem (the mist lights, fan cut-out after a few minutes and then start-up again if I leave the thing turned on) is being caused by the thyristor driver overheating. I have just ordered a cheap mist maker fro China (which could be a while getting here), and in the meantime will be modifying the wiring to provide the 20v required (the original is 12v). One thing I would like to add to what rckybrook said......my fire's smoke effect lasted 10 years, had lots of use, but was cleaned only when I remembered to do it, which was about once each year (if that!)
    Tony
     
  12. Jupact583

    Jupact583

    Joined:
    7 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would appear my young lad has turned this dial to the point where it no longer works. He’s overturned it and would appear he’s snapped the switch inside which triggers it on. Anyone know if it can be fixed or would be looking at a full unit
     

    Attached Files:

  13. richuk

    richuk

    Joined:
    4 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a potentiometer behind the black dial, shouldn't be an expensive part to replace, but it involves removing parts of the fire, so you'd need to be competent with electronics really and be careful, always remove the mains power before starting.
     
  14. lynfin48

    lynfin48

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I wonder if someone can offer any advice.
    I have read through the previous comments and some similar issues to mine came up but not sure of the outcome.
    I have an optimyst GOSFORD GOS20 electric heater. It has an orange water tank and grey sump.
    Was working fine last year. Tried it a few weeks ago and heater part of it is working, but the bulbs come on for about 30 secs, then click off. There is no mist produced. I did all the troubleshooting advice, cleaned everything. Nothing is happening down in the water and the fan isn't coming on either.
    First i thought i needed new discs, then decided it was a new fan, or both....now i'm not sure what to get or try.
    Any advice would be appreciated, thank you in advance
     
    Last edited: 17 Nov 2020
  15. Michael Willicombe

    Michael Willicombe

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    I have given up on mine. Bought some flame effect led globes from the hardware shop, mounted them loose where the tank should go, wired to a separate plug. Lights up the logs with a nice effect (no water to faff about with!). Maintenance free and fan heater and overall fire look is still good
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  16. FayE66

    FayE66

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hoping for some advice. Lights work, heater works but the mist turned off after 30 seconds. I changed the disc and it seemed to work but then turned off after about 10 mins. I changed the transducer (using a dimplex supplier) and nothing. Now the water isn’t bubbling at all. Any suggestions on what else I can try?
     
  17. Pitch182

    Pitch182

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone

    I’ve had a good read through this thread having just bought (yesterday) an opti myst cast iron effect fire. I’ve registered it today, and was given the option of the parts labour warranty inc accidental damage for just over £3 per month. The lad on the phone said I could take this out within the first year but not after. Question is, do you think it’s something I should look into? I’m very handy at fixing things but would the cost of replacement parts negate the monthly cost? Has anyone taken this out and would recommend it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page