DIY Rewire

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am not a qualified electrician and I am planning on rewiring my own home. Having read around this forum and the internet in general there's a lot of conflicting advice (a lot of it to do with the April 2013 changes I think) and a lot of discouraging of DIYer's. I am very keen to do the work myself, to a very high standard and to the letter (if not better) of the current regulations. From my current understanding this is allowed under the current regulations with certain conditions. The purpose of my post and questions is to gain a better understanding of those conditions, rather than a discussion on the pro's and con's of DIYers performing their own rewires.

My current understanding is this:
- Certain domestic electrical work is notifiable to the council's building control department. Specifically notifiable work is limited to the replacement of a consumer unit / installation of a new circuit / any work in a bathroom
- A none competent person may carry out this work as long as the work is inspected within 5 days of completion and an electrical condition report issued
- The work can be assessed by a registered third party assessor or by building control

Assuming I have the above understanding correct, what I don’t understand is:
- Where a registered third party assessor can be found (my many phone calls haven’t returned any results) and what I could expect to be charged
- What would be involved with going to building control directly instead of using a third party
- What time limit (if any) exists on completing the works (is a week acceptable? A month? A year?)

Thanks in advanced for any help people can provide.

Sponsored Links
- Certain domestic electrical work is notifiable to the council's building control department. Specifically notifiable work is limited to the replacement of a consumer unit / installation of a new circuit / any work in a bathroom
Within the zones of a bathroom or other special locations.