Does Limescale really damage washing machines?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Well does it?

Personally I think its just an advertising ploy to sell a product that is largely unecessary. Being an electrical engineer I cant see how a bit of limescale on a heating element will stop it from working. If you dont belive me just look at the element in your kettle.

Opinions anyone.

Sponsored Links
ity does actually. it tkes more energy to heat the water since it now has insulation, it can also cause the element to overheat

Hmm, not entirely convinced that a thin layer of limescale would make that much difference. Still I suppose it's possible.

i used to fix hp m/c as i said, the heater gets covered in limescale, causing the element to overheat, i forgot to mention the hp elements have a non restable cut out

think about it, you are cold, what do yoy do? put on another laye.

still, i dont care if you believe it or not, not my problem what you believe

Sponsored Links
Yes they do work but this raises another question. What is the more economic. Taking those tablets or replacing the spare parts that will inevitably fail. When I replaced a heating element in my Zanussi WM some years back, I was tempted. But doing some quick maths showed that the spare parts were comming out cheaper than the ongoing cost of the tablets.

The machine itself had been a wedding present from my in-laws. Since I'm just coming up to my silver wedding aniversary, it had been in service over 20 years. Totting up the cost of ALL the spares that I had ever replaced on it (A few Heating elements, the odd couple of pumps, Door seal, main bearings, spider) still came to a fraction of the price of 20 years supply of the tablets. Interestingly I never, once, needed to replace ANY of the rubber hoses. (even though the TV service engineer rips one apart to make some kind of point)