Does this comply with building regs?

G

Goldspoon

I'm a plumber...

When drilling walls I always have this feeling that I'm about to hit something that will fry my insides. So I am careful to think about where cable/wires "should be" (although I know that this may not be the case).

In this present bathroom job I arrived this morning to find the electrician had been in - to extend some wiring (was shave socket but is to be electric towel rail). I am instructed just to fill it all in and tile over. Top is old (so all filled in) and bottom is new.

P1010576.jpg

Question is - I know that building regs state that wires have to be buried in a certain way (running horizontally to or vertically to the fitting unless protected etc.) but note that in the case pictured this extension of the wiring would leave a person drilling a hole in danger as this new wiring route has a right angle.

Is what the electrician has done within the rules?

Sponsored Links
I'm a plumber...

When drilling walls I always have this feeling that I'm about to hit something that will fry my insides. So I am careful to think about where cable/wires "should be" (although I know that this may not be the case).

In this present bathroom job I arrived this morning to find the electrician had been in - to extend some wiring (was shave socket but is to be electric towel rail). I am instructed just to fill it all in and tile over. Top is old (so all filled in) and bottom is new.

P1010576.jpg

Question is - I know that building regs state that wires have to be buried in a certain way (running horizontally to or vertically to the fitting unless protected etc.) but note that in the case pictured this extension of the wiring would leave a person drilling a hole in danger as this new wiring route has a right angle.

Is what the electrician has done within the rules?

Hi Goldspoon!
Before answer your question i have to make another one, is the box of old shaver socket do be tiled over or not?