Doorbell transformer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Looking to replace our old school Byron wired doorbell with a video one. Was looking at hard wiring one in like the Eufy one, and maybe even trying to utilise the old Byron chime on the wall.

It looks like the video doorbells need meatier transformers. The transformer already in my consumer unit is a Crabtree one that doesn't look like it meets what would be required. The spec online suggests it needs to be 16-24VAC, 30VA. (I thought these transformers were DC, but guess not)

My question is, if I can find a replacement one in Screwfix etc, would the original wiring (thin bell wire) be able to take the extra power? (6x more power?)

Cheers

1000013773.jpg

Sponsored Links
I think bell wire is normally rated at about 1amp. You are looking at 1.25amps.

Personally, I would stick with the bell wire if running new cable is a faff, but I am not an electrician.

6 volt at 5 VA is not quite 1 amp, 24 volt at 30 VA is just over an amp, so very little between them, so cable is likely fine.

Bell wire is ample, but have used LAN cable in past that may be too great a volt drop, if a long run. But no danger.

Found on the Eufy website they recommend a specific transformer (Verma off Amazon), that is 24vac 30VA, but unfortunately is 3 DIN wide. I've only got a 2 DIN gap, so could maybe opt for the smaller 24vac 15VA transformer, which may or may not be enough to power the doorbell.

Also wary of putting transformers off Amazon or eBay into house electrics. Wasn't there a rule about not mixing manufacturers in the consumer unit?

Sponsored Links
Found on the Eufy website they recommend a specific transformer (Verma off Amazon), that is 24vac 30VA, but unfortunately is 3 DIN wide. I've only got a 2 DIN gap, so could maybe opt for the smaller 24vac 15VA transformer, which may or may not be enough to power the doorbell.