drill

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anybody tell me what im doing wrong. Im not very experienced in diy. I have a curtain rail to put up. It needs to go into brick. I have a 710w power devil hammer drill with a new set of masonry bits. But Its just not making any impact at all. Is this drill useless ??? Or am i doing something wrong ???

Sponsored Links
If you're sure it's only brick you're going into, that drill should do the job. Proving you have the drill set to hammer and a good quality bit, you should be able to go into it easily enough.

Sponsored Links
as dangermouse said your more than likely drilling into a concrete lintel and you need an sds to get through that.

If he is drilling into a lintel, he doesn't need to get an SDS drill, he needs to reposition the curtain rail. And, even if the lintel is concrete, he should still be able to get into it.

Concrete lintel or brick, it doesn't really matter, he/she is getting nowhere at the moment.

Unless its a steel lintel, SDS is the way to go.

BTW.... None of the bricks in my house can be drilled with anything other than SDS.

I disagree. Using the proper technique combined with the machine set properly and a good bit, it shouldn't prove to be a problem.

Thanks for the replies. Well ive used this drill once before on brick. It was on a parity wall. I was drilling out brick to sink a socket box and had to drill lots of holes to a shallowish depth and then chisel it out. But the drilling then too was such a pain, it took me the best part of a day !
I suspected the drill bits then and bought a new set of masonry drill bits but no difference.

I mean how long is it supposed to take to drill, lets say, a 10mm hole in brick ? Maybe its supposed to take about an hour and im expecting it to be faster. I just thought it would be a hell of a lot easier and faster than that.