Dropped tile in shower tray..aghhhh

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm fitting a new bathroom which included a new floor, two new towel radiators, bath, wash hand basin, mirror door, spotlighting and extractor fan....

just finshed tiling around the shower base when I noticed a gouge (only word really) about 1/4" long in the shower tray... Just over the shower I'm tiling the ceiling...a couple of days ago, as I was tiling one fell off (I'm using an adjustable paint roller pole as a prop). As I had 2 sheets of cardboard and two thicknesses of bathroom mat over the tray I never thought any more about it...until just now....aghhhh

Is there anything I can do to make the dent/gouge a little less obvious...the tray is an expensive white acrylic type... The wife is going to kill me.

Sponsored Links
I have been working in this trade for 10 years

The tray has a skin on it if its what you call acrillic capped about 3mm, like a bath, shiney if the scratch isn't too deep you can use mild emery paper and t cut like you use on a car.

how ever if its to deep as in more than say 2mm you can also get a repair kit , usually 2 parts one the colour ie white and one a hardener liquid, costs about £20

if your not too fusey the best bet is to go to a car shop and get a mini paint stick for a car, paint/fill it in leave over night or so then tcut till it looks ok ;)

good luck cheers ben

Good advice but unless you’re really confident about doing such repairs, I would advise you leave it alone; if you don’t get it right you could well make it worse & then she will not only kill you but cut off your balls as well :eek: . Say nothing, hope she doesn’t notice, let her have the honour of 1st shower & then ask her what the hell she dropped in the new shower tray :evil:

Tiles on the ceiling is a little unusual; hope you used good/correct trade materials or there may well be a few more tiles falling off before too long.