Drywall lining my Porch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there.

I currently have an entrance porch which gets very cold. Its made of a single course of brick, it also has a vent in the corner. I would like to errect some kind of plasterboard so that it not only tidies up the brickwork, but offers some kind of insulation.

I think that the best way to do this is to attach wooden batons to the wall 400mm apart, including top and bottom. My only gripe with this is that the uPVC door might be hindered, as it opens on the the wall (the hinges are 20mm away from the wall.

As i have no experience of drywall lining, i wondered if this could be something i can undertake myself.

I look forward to your replies.

Meddy.

Sponsored Links
It should be easy enough to do. Unless the porch is heated, you might not notice much improvement. Generally the main benefit of having a porch is to offer shelter eg. to someone at the door so you don't have to invite them in. The extra work, expense and loss of space might not be worth it.
It really depends on what you use the porch for.

Any dampness in the porch makes it feel very cold & it’s always going to be a problem if single skin walls are involved. My porch was formed between a single skin, garage brick wall & a brick pillar supporting an existing pitch roof on the other side. I had a similar problem with lack of space between the wall & front window to allow the use of battens but the brick face was nice & flat so I lined the wall, the pillar & the remaining part of the house wall next to the front door using 12mm Duplex plasterboard (foil backed), screwed directly to the brick face using through screw fixings, I then plaster skimmed the face. It’s cured the damp feeling out there & looks so much better but I also have the benefit of cavity dwarf walls on the other 2 sides (plastered) & a damp membrane in the new screed floor which has been fully tiled.