Dual entry Microbore radiator valve question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm a DIYnot newbie with a little knowledge of plumbing, so please treat me gently! I've tried to gen myself up with a bit of knowledge, but if I get the terminology incorrect then please excuse me...

I've searched these forums, but cannot find a definitive answer for my question(s).

We have dual entry Microbore (8mm) radiator valves entering the left hand side of all the radiators in our house. I'd like to replace the radiator in the bathroom with a towel rail ladder, so I have a few questions.

Do towel radiators (or new radiators) have to use TRV's? If not, can I use the existing dual entry valve and blank off the other end of the towel radiator?

I know it would be more efficient to move one of the pipes to the other end of the radiator and use TRV's. Maybe I'm trying to achive things in a half-arsed fashion. I'd just like to know if it's possible to use the existing valve?

To be honest, our heating system does not suffer from any blockage (that I know of), but I suppose it may be a good thing to get it flushed?

Cheers!
Trick.

Sponsored Links
the thing to remember/know about twin entry valves is that they have a piece of 8mm pip going from the flow into the rad so the water circulates round the rad and not simply in and out the valves, so the rad needs to accomodate the pipe, some double panel rads only have a 40mm pipe before they split into the panels so twin entry wont fit, is your towel rad like that, google steltad compact radiators and you will see what i'm trying to describe (badly)

Sponsored Links
i cant really tell from the pic whether the pipe will go in the rad to allow the twin valve to work, but to be honest, given the look and the cost of the towel rail, go the extra and split the pipes and fit a pr of nice chrome valves and some chrome pipe covers to finish off a good job, remember a towel rail will only heat towels NOT a bathroom

Thanks guys.