Earth in wires

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a heating engineer and if I was to wire the 10 way box and controls components I would always want to run a cable with the appropriate amount of cores including a earth, I always come across wires where they use the earth as a live wire . Can this be done

Most of the controls are double insulated and don't require a earth but do you need a earth in case you cut through a wire to trip the rcd ??

Thank you

Sponsored Links
I'm a heating engineer and if I was to wire the 10 way box and controls components I would always want to run a cable with the appropriate amount of cores including a earth, I always come across wires where they use the earth as a live wire . Can this be done
No. It cannot/should not be done.

Most of the controls are double insulated and don't require a earth but do you need a earth in case you cut through a wire to trip the rcd ??
That could be one reason, yes.
A CPC (earth wire) must be run to all points and, obviously, connected at the wiring centre and so to earth at the source.

I'm a heating engineer and if I was to wire the 10 way box and controls components I would always want to run a cable with the appropriate amount of cores including a earth, I always come across wires where they use the earth as a live wire . Can this be done. ... Most of the controls are double insulated and don't require a earth but do you need a earth in case you cut through a wire to trip the rcd ??
An old chestnut, which often/usually generates a lot of debate. An earth in any cable is desirable, for the reason you mention. Also, as far as the Wiring Regs are concerned, a CPC ('earth') should be run to every point or accessory in an installation, even if it is not (currently) actually needed (e.g. for a Class II / 'double insultaed' load/accessory).