Elec oven and cooker hood connected with plugs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I was hoping i could get some advice. I've been asked to move a kitchen from upstairs to downstairs as the property was a shop but the new owner wants to turn it into a standard house. Now the job seemed straightforward, i would do the plumbing and carpentry and get an electrician in to connect up the electric oven and cooker extracter fan/hood.

However the homeowner advised i did not need an electrician as the electric oven, and extractor hood are not directly connected to the mains circuit. Instead the previous installer has fitted standard wires and a 3 pin plug to both these appliances. Now as i'm not a qualified electrician i dont know what to make of this setup, but i assume this is not how these appliances should be installed?

I am reluctant to move these appliances for the guy as i have a feeling these connections may be against building regulations. I have never seen the cooker hood or electric oven connected using a 3 pin plug! Can someone please advise if this is safe?

Sponsored Links
There are versions which either use less than 3kW or can be configured to use less than 3kW so one can't say you can't do it. However it would be unusual.

Most hobs use more than 3kW so would need larger supply than you can get from a 13A plug. Some ovens are over and some under the 3kW. The extractor should be no problem.

For fixed appliance the recommendation is over 2kW it should have dedicated supply.

The domino (two ring only) hobs are often under 3kW.

just to check, when you say "oven", do you mean "oven" or do you mean "cooker?"

just to check, when you say "oven", do you mean "oven" or do you mean "cooker?"

no, just the Oven. The cooker hob is a gas hob and built into the worktop. The oven is seperate and just an electric oven.

Sponsored Links