1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Electric/MCB tripping at random times...

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Schmidt, 16 Jan 2018.

1. Schmidt

Schmidt

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

I've got a Hager B16 MCB tripping, sometimes randomly, which supplies my electric oven in the kitchen.

I find it (obviously) only tends to happen if the fused spur to the oven is turned on and certainly happens if the oven is on - however, if I reset the MCB, sometimes it will be fine again for a long while / sometimes it trips within seconds.

I'm not an Electrician (I'm a Gas Engineer) but I am competent with my fluke multimeter. Is there anything I can test/check or am I best to get in touch with an Electrician?

I'm going to isolate and remove the oven, take the back off it and test the supply cable etc.

But I'm not familiar with Consumer Units, do MCB's tend to 'expire'?
    I don't want to waste time/money having someone spend time investigating it if there's things I can eliminate myself.

(I've just answered my own question there, haven't I? - if you don't know what you're doing, get someone who does?)

Cheers

2. JohnW2

JohnW2

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    When you say that it "only tends to happen" with the fused spur switched on, do you actually mean that it only ever happens when that FCU is switched on?

Do I take it that this circuit supplies nothing other than the oven?

Was there a time when this didn't happen, or has it been happening since the oven was installed?

What is the 'maximum power' rating of the oven? If it's over about 3.7kW, the current draw could exceed 16A at switch-on from cold, but it ought to take a fair bit more than that to trip the MCB.

Is the circuit RCD protected and, if so, has the RCD ever tripped?