1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Electric Oven / Hob

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Deryck Tintagel, 1 Apr 2019.

  1. Deryck Tintagel

    Deryck Tintagel

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The current installation is gas hob / electric oven. The oven is supplied from the CU via a 40A MCB to a 45A CCU with single socket - the single socket has the gas igniter plugged in. The CCU is mounted in a cupboard alongside the oven

    The new installation is for an electric induction hob and electric oven. Now, both appliances require 13A plugs so am I right in saying that the CCU can be changed to a 2-gang socket (MK for example) without need to change the MCB as this is protecting the existing fixed cable?
     
  2. chivers67

    chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What are the Ratings of the Hob and cooker? Most double sockets are rated at 20 Amps , Diversity will probably help though.
     
  3. Deryck Tintagel

    Deryck Tintagel

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right I think I have got to the bottom of this (It's friend's daughter's new equipment)

    Oven
    Hoover HOE3051IN
    2.2kW

    Hob
    Hoover HH64DCT
    6.4kW in total

    Oven will be fine on a 13A plug

    The hob will need to be hardwired to the CCU. The instructions I had been told said to connect to a plug / socket, but reading the installation instructions on line it states a 2.5mm CSA flexible cable HO5V2V2F should be used. I think it could get a bit warm using a 13A plug!
     
  4. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,616
    Thanks Received:
    3,428
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Where is the present oven cable actually connected?
     
  5. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    15,181
    Thanks Received:
    1,357
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some induction hobs can be configured for 13A, 16A or 20A however don't think the Hoover has that option, also some can be used single phase or split phase or three phase I think the Hoover does have that option which may have lead one to believe at first it would run on 13A.

    However seems it needs a 20A supply so will either connect to a cooker connection unit or direct into the isolator although cooker connection units will have cable clamps some times there are no clamps in the isolator so it may need a cleat of some type.

    Although some two gang sockets are rated at 13A each, they don't always have that rating so would not use two gang for 3 kW appliances I would fit two single sockets, although it now seems it needs a socket and cooker connection unit.

    One thing to consider is cooling, a 13A socket well more to point 13A plug has a fuse in it and will get hot, so is designed to be in free air, some oven carcasses have the oven cooling fan vent through carcase so having the 13A socket inside is OK, as it is fan cooled, but 13A socket should never be inside a cupboard as the plug could over heat.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,616
    Thanks Received:
    3,428
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    What is the minimum size enclosure, cupboard or anything else, where a plug may be fitted?
     
  8. Deryck Tintagel

    Deryck Tintagel

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The existing oven is connected to the CCU in a cupboard next to the oven as far as I am aware. I have not seen it so I am going on what I have been told and anything else would be guesswork. Is there an issue that needs to be addressed?
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,616
    Thanks Received:
    3,428
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Then you can use that CCU for the hob and plug in the oven- if the information is accurate and I have understood correctly.
     
  10. Deryck Tintagel

    Deryck Tintagel

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the confirmation. Just a lot of confusion in the instructions to use a plug! I know some hobs can use a 13A plug but I wasn't convinced until I saw the manufacturer's information sheets
     
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,881
    Thanks Received:
    2,725
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think those instructions may be suffering from internationism/translation. Where it talks about plugs, it talks about ones which are 'appropriate for the current' - which, as you realise, a 13A one would not be (and there's no sensible alternative in the UK).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page