Electric shower burning switches

Joined
16 Aug 2016
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
hi,

I installed a new triton 10.5kW electric shower about a year and a half ago and it has now burnt through 3 switches. At first I thought it was the switches. but the latest one has the wires burnt out ...see pic.
upload_2019-7-4_13-0-31.png


This piece of burnt wire was removed and i installed a new switch but a week later it is tripping the circuit breaker. All switches i installed were 45A

The previous shower was 8.5Kw and ran fine for 3 years.

Do I need to get the wiring checked? Replace the shower? Downgrade to 8.5kW?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
39,226
Reaction score
4,869
Location
Retired to:
Country
Portugal
The heating is caused by loose connections - and possibly squashing the switch back into position.
You may think they are tight but they (or one) wasn't.
It should not trip a breaker, though. This could suggest something somewhere else is damaged.

These are considered better because the conections are made in situ and a cover goes over them - although, as you can see, they are round so they might not fit the existing hole in the ceiling.
https://www.screwfix.com/p/crabtree-50a-1-way-pull-cord-switch-white/90597
 
Joined
20 Nov 2012
Messages
2,405
Reaction score
426
Location
Dumfriesshire
Country
United Kingdom
What make of switches are you using. 45A switch feeding a 10.5kW shower is really pushing its rating. Get a 50A quality switch and ensure you cut back all heated copper until you get to bright copper.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Nov 2012
Messages
2,405
Reaction score
426
Location
Dumfriesshire
Country
United Kingdom
Useful information would include the rating of the "breaker" that "tripped" and at what point in time did it trip (immediately shower was used - during shower use after 'x' minutes - at some other time) Also what is the cross section of the cable running from the CU to the shower and what is its length. All this information is required to determine whether your upgrade is on sound foundations (excluding any defective switches)
 
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
39,226
Reaction score
4,869
Location
Retired to:
Country
Portugal
All that is true but only one wire has overheated so a loose connection is still the likely cause.
 
Joined
19 Jan 2006
Messages
558
Reaction score
32
Location
Wiltshire
Country
United Kingdom
Is that a black wire in the earth terminal?

Edit: And why is there only one earth wire for two cables?
 
Last edited:
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
39,226
Reaction score
4,869
Location
Retired to:
Country
Portugal
I think there are two cores in it

upload_2019-7-4_20-49-41.png


and -

assume black sleeve (a bit of insulation of the other core/) has been used.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top