electric shower getting no power

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Over the last week or two, our shower started acting strange. After several minutes of use, it would cut out and stop working. Leave it for a while and try it again and it would work.

After a week of this it has now stopped working completely. I am sure it is not the shower but an electrical fault. I am no electrician and need to get someone qualified in to sort it but I wondered if anyone had any ideas on what has gone wrong so I at least know what the problem might be when someone comes to fix it.

The red light on the shower does not light up and the box on the ceiling with the pull cord is switched to on but the light is not on. During the initial problems, this light seemed to be fading.

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
tsquealer said:
Hi,

Over the last week or two, our shower started acting strange. After several minutes of use, it would cut out and stop working. Leave it for a while and try it again and it would work.

After a week of this it has now stopped working completely. I am sure it is not the shower but an electrical fault. I am no electrician and need to get someone qualified in to sort it but I wondered if anyone had any ideas on what has gone wrong so I at least know what the problem might be when someone comes to fix it.

The red light on the shower does not light up and the box on the ceiling with the pull cord is switched to on but the light is not on. During the initial problems, this light seemed to be fading.

Many thanks

From what you say i t appears a definate lack of power, leading up to this you mention intermittant problems. I would say that you have either an undersized cable or a loose connection, has the MCB/fuse or RCD triped out at any stage. Start by checking the cable size used, the rating of the device that it is fed from in the consumer unit and the rating of the shower you have.