Electric underfloor versus gas combi standard radiators

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Opinions?

Has it gotten to a point yet where electric underfloor heating is better economically than a combi-radiator set up?

I'm thinking about ripping up the old boards here and relaying flooring grade chipboard with a nice engineered or laminate on top, insulating between the joists with rockwall as I go- and why not remove the radiators while I'm at it and fit some underfloor heating instead.

Sponsored Links
have a look at your latest gas and electricity bills.

I expect you will find that, like mine, your energy from electricity costs between four and five times as much as energy from gas.

Genius response. Guess that's it then time to go and stare at the wall

Johns right when he says that electric costs more than gas, so will put your bills up, but UFH is supposed to be more efficient to run, so would it. I have no experience to help you with here Hawkeye, only to ask why you you haven't thought about taking out the rads, and installing a wet UFH system instead of electric.

Why are you ripping up the floorboards. If it was to put in the rockwall, I've done that by lifiting every 6th board, and pushing it under from either side.

Sponsored Links
if its electric as opposed to gas then the electric will always be about 3xthe running costs
if it a ok insulated house then gas will perhaps cost 20% MORE in underfloor compared to radiators due to time lag requiring heating on earlier to warm the room indirectly
if your house is poorly insulated to ok insulated then electrical underfloor will be 4 to 5 times as much for the same comfort level
electric heating is 95-100% efficient so any claims off "less cost" or "lower running costs" means lower heat output so in general far less efficient

but UFH is supposed to be more efficient to run,