Explosive Ignition question/help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, great website. Glad I discovered it.
I am a gas trainee and as part of my homework I have been asked to find out and list as many possible causes of explosive ignition as possible. I have the following, but can't think of any others, that I may have missed. Is there any more I have missed off my list:

DIRTY PILOT BURNER/ASSEMBLY

INCORRECTLY POSITIONED PILOT ASSEMBLY

FAULTY ELECTRODE/HT LEAD (INSULATION LOST/BROKEN DOWN)

INCORRECTLY POSITIONED ELECTRODE LEAD

DIRTY BURNER

DIRTY/PART BLOCKED INJECTOR(S)

GAS VALVE PASSING WHEN SOLENOID SHUT/CLOSED
(too much gas through and when boiler "ignites"/re-ginites: Bang)

If I have missed any I'd be greatful for any help :)

Steve J

Sponsored Links
Leaking burner bar on suprima E.g internal gas leak , Neta heat that misse's out pilot stage in ign sequence that a go BANG !! faulty ign sequence !!

Thanks for your input and help.

By faulty ignition sequence you mean the intermittent pilot is misse dout (fault board)? and hence straight to main/full gas?...

Yes , it will or can buckle the casing ect , & remember some boiler's neta heat are positive flue boiler's meaning the fan is sucking air in as opposed to , most boiler's , which are negative pressure meaning the fan is sucking the fume's out !!! explosive ign on these boiler's can mean the casing seal leak's with all the resultant consequence's !!!

Suprima burner bar leak , mean.'s internal gas leak in comb chamber , which will than ignite during ignition = explosive ignition !!!

Had the same prob ounce on an open flued gloworm hideaway / halstead buckingham as neta heat , blew terminal off chimney !!!

Sponsored Links
Thanks a lot for all your help I really appreciate it.
I know them positive pressure fanned boilers are dangerous, under normal/correct operation if the seals go then POC will enter the room and cause a real problem.