fiddly wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys, looking for advice re. connecting two cables together which is something I've done on countless occasions over the years, but this task is different.

I'm trying to replace the (aftermarket) reversing camera fitted to our 5 series by a previous owner. I've purchased a replacement unit but the connections don't match those already in place & this is going to mean splicing 2 cables together, each one consisting of 5 fine wires. Because this 'micro surgery' is new to me I have neither a suitable stripping tool or connectors to do the job … soldering might be the answer, but as the existing cable cannot be removed from the car I would have to carry out the work in-situ & I'm no expert with a soldering iron anyway :notworthy:

The individual wires look too fine for even a standard 5amp bullet (or similar) connector, so can anyone suggest an alterative ?

Many thanks for viewing.

Sponsored Links
To make a decent and reliable job I think I ‘d need to become proficient with a soldering iron and shrink wrap tube......scotchlok connectors could work but they are very bulky!
A sharp knife is fine for cutting the insulation off.
John :)

Sometimes I just use the heat of the soldering iron to melt back the insulation on fine wires.
Could you solder a length of heavier wire to each end of the fine wire to extend it?

Sponsored Links
Soldering is really a piece of pi##, have a look at some you tube tutorials.
It’s the best way to be honest, I find twisting the wires together first easiest before soldering on fiddly jobs.

I used heat shrink on some fine cable , just twisted the wires together then shrank cover , one at a time, then taped all heat shrink wires together to prevent any tension .

I appreciate all your replies folks.
I've ordered a new soldering iron & will get some practice in, it's been a while ...