Filling in holes in a wooden door

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have a door which I need to put the handle back on as its come off. The handle was loose and it practically came off in my hands, so I removed the other side as well.

The handle screws into the door frame however it looks like the previous owner has done this a number of times and I now need to somehow fill the old holes so I can create new holes.

I have uploaded some images of the door where the handle was.

My question is what do I use to fill the holes with? Once the holes are filled I will need to put the screws back in to the same place as the old holes.

I am very new to this, I have used wall filler in the past to cover up holes in walls but I wasn't sure about wood and also wasn't sure as these holes are smaller.

Thanks,
c

IMG_20160124_181407.jpg

IMG_20160124_181353.jpg

Sponsored Links
How about fitting different handles where the new screws would then be in different places?

Fill the holes tightly with slivers of timber - even matches will do if you knock them in tight......apply PVA glue first though, and give time to set before trimming the ends off.
John :)

Is it a hollow door (not solid wood)? It certain looks hollow, so there isn't much to screw to. I would be tempted to use a hole saw to cut a large-ish hole, obliterating the existing screw holes and everything. Then glue a thick piece of dowel into the new hole, tight fit, so you've then got some decent wood to screw to.

Sponsored Links
How about fitting different handles where the new screws would then be in different places?

I would ideally like to use the same handles

Fill the holes tightly with slivers of timber - even matches will do if you knock them in tight......apply PVA glue first though, and give time to set before trimming the ends off.
John :)

If I do this then can I still screw into the slivers of timber?