First plastering project....help please!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've recently completed a one week course on plastering and started my first room this weekend. So far I'm thrilled with the results, except for one thing - my stop bead join.

As a newbie, I'm unable to do a large ceiling in one go, so I was told by our instructor to use a stop bead. Unfortunately I forgot to ask exactly how to make the stop bead transition completely smooth. Any specific tips? TIA

Sponsored Links
Define a large ceiling, and how are you intending to do; I've never used a stop bead, and wouldn't want to. I'm sure the pros will give you a better method, but I set up enough scaffold boards in the centre of the room about 80mm appart, so that you can stretch to the sides and just keep moving. You want a spot board set so that you're not having to get down, and you want a helper to keep it filled. That should let you handle a 5x5mtr room quite easily. A lot of it's down to having enough confidence to just go for it.

The ceiling is 3.5 x 4.5....and I don't have a helper. My issue is really about timing of course. I can't seem to work fast enough! I might benefit from a spot board and better scaffolding but I plan on working on my own in the future so I need to develop a system. Perhaps it's just experience that will solve this one, but I need a temporary solution until I get better.

Hello and welcome to the forums . Stilts are the answer, master them and have a raised up spotboard - a large round one is good, you don't jab yourself on the corners, seriously. I presume the instructor meant a temporary stop bead, removed to give you an edge to finish to?

Sponsored Links
if you can't do the whole ceiling then that's what I would do if you're not confident blending two sets. set a batten to the ceiling and treat that as an edge. then take down the batten for the next set, make sure the first set has properly gone off, then start carefully from that edge.