1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fitting a cooker and hob control switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by sophiejazz, 4 Oct 2010.

  1. sophiejazz

    sophiejazz

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just had a new kitchen fitted. The electrician has a 45 amp wire coming through the wall behind the cooker. He hasn't put a switch on the wall above the worksurface for switching the cooker on/off. (Think there may have been confusion with the kitchen fitter who suggested that the cooker switch should be in the cupboard.) Any how, I'm now wanting to put a cooker on/off switch on the wall. How would I do / connect this electrically? To avoid damaging new plaster I was going to lead the 45 amp wire through the wall to the adjoining room where I can bed it in the wall, straight along about 18", then vertically up and feed back through to the kitchen wall to the patrice box.

    Advice and comments would be much appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. londonboy

    londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Briefly reading your post I don't think your idea is possible because it would be outside of the 'safe zones'.

    Have a look for safe zones on the wiki.

    Basically if someone was to drill to hang a picture they would end up putting a screw through your cooker cable, because no one would ever know it was there ;)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,966
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So your're going to conceal the cooker cable in the wall of the other room?

    Probably a bad idea as I assume the buried cable will not be in a cable safe zone?

    Cable should be concealed in wall so it's inline with an electrical accessory.

    Otherwise, if it's not obvious where the cable is concealed, it may get drilled through.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. londonboy

    londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. sophiejazz

    sophiejazz

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That certainly makes sense. Much appreciate all the above comments. I really need to find out from the electrician why he didn't put the wire for the control unit above the work surface. It's going to be difficult getting it up the back of the work top without damaging it.
    Any advice?
    quote="sparkwright";p="1757078"]So your're going to conceal the cooker cable in the wall of the other room?

    Probably a bad idea as I assume the buried cable will not be in a cable safe zone?

    Cable should be concealed in wall so it's inline with an electrical accessory.

    Otherwise, if it's not obvious where the cable is concealed, it may get drilled through.[/quote]
     
  7. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,966
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you got a tall kitchen unit in the kitchen that goes from floor to wall cupboard height?
    eg
    A fridge/oven housing
    A larder unit
    etc

    If it is close to the cooker, you may be able to run the cables behind this, and then dig behind so the cables come out along side.

    If you see what I mean.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. rugbylad

    rugbylad

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get back ASAP to the folks who installed your kitchen and tell them to sort it properly !.
    Also have you had a Certificate for the work done !.
     
  10. londonboy

    londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That sounds a bit heavy handed!

    Maybe the rewire was done when there was no cooker to connect up, big issue! :rolleyes:
     
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whether there was a cooker to connect or not is immaterial - they installed a cooker outlet so they should have installed a switch as well....
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. sophiejazz

    sophiejazz

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it's been a comedy of errors by all involved, only I'm not laughing. Trying to get hold of the electrician is impossible. He doesn't answer the phone and was out when I called round. And yes I do have a cert from him!!
    Whilst the kitchen fitter did a good job of the units why on earth he suggested putting the switch in the cupboard is now beyond me, (it just didn't register with me at the time).
    There isn't a tall unit next to the cooker, just a 12" one, but I'm having a free standing fridge freezer go next to that which has given me another idea to think about, possibly chase it up that wall and tile over. (The electrician has left a good length of spare cable under the floorboards.)

     
  13. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,966
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where does it say they installed a cooker outlet?

    The thing with many kitchen fitters is that they like to see cooker switches and isolators/sockets for appliances in the cupboards - because they think the kitchen looks better without the accessories on show.

    And then, of course, you get an electrician who feels a bit lazy, and gladly goes along with this, to save chasing a few boxes into the wall.

    How are your other appliances switched?
    Do you have switches over the worktops to isolate, say, the fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, etc?

    It is always a good idea to have these switches over the worktop so anyone can isolate an appliance easily, in an emergency etc.

    As already said, get the electrician to come back and put it right.
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page