1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fitting a Hive single channel receiver to a Vokera Boiler

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by skempy, 5 Nov 2021.

  1. skempy

    skempy

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Wanting to fit a Hive programmer to my Vokera Compact combi boiler and wondered if the attached wiring diagram configuration DSC05652.JPG would work.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,966
    Thanks Received:
    10,066
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope completely wrong, which compact model do you have there are loads of them, dont attempt to wire up as your pic
     
  4. skempy

    skempy

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Vokera Compact A DIN Combi boiler 25kw
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,966
    Thanks Received:
    10,066
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK take
    L&N from boiler to L&N on hive
    The black and red wires from CN5 on the boiler pcb go to 1&3 on the hive, either way round doesnt matter, DO NOT make any links your switching is 24 v and you will damage the boiler if you do it wrong
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. skempy

    skempy

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for that info. So it should be as - DSC05653.JPG
     
  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,966
    Thanks Received:
    10,066
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep that is it, if there are existing wires in CN5 these are either cut or removed, and replaced with the hive which will take control of the boiler
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. skempy

    skempy

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks, you are a star!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. skempy

    skempy

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just want to be sure! So, the four wires from the boiler Brown, Blue, Red and Black, all come from the 'Connector Clock' shown in the attached wiring diagram? DSC05654.JPG
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,966
    Thanks Received:
    10,066
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep that is correct, the clock is by-passed and the boiler is now controlled by the hive
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. skempy

    skempy

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Much appreciated!
     
  13. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    8,554
    Thanks Received:
    2,479
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have an analogue clock attached? That would be unplugged.

    Power off the boiler, ground yourself on the case before you get into at the PCB. Normally I would loosen the 2 terminal screws on CN5 and the L & N on the boiler, remove the red, black, blue and brown wires for the plug, then wire the hive exactly as the plug would be. Use a length of 5 core cable > brown and blue + (E) from the L&N on the boiler to L&N + (E) in the hive and the gray and black from CN5 to terminals 1+3 on the hive.

    Better off taking the L&N from the boiler as then it's all covered by the same power switch and fuse when it comes to safe isolation.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,966
    Thanks Received:
    10,066
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Rab, have wired many of these but never seen grey and black from CN5 to the Tyco plug, always been red and black on a Compact A, you learn something new every day
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    8,554
    Thanks Received:
    2,479
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not all Ian, you're right, all the one's I've seen are red and black too.

    I was just suggesting that the OP uses a 5 core cable to wire the power and CN5 connections all in the one cable from the boiler to the hive receiver to keep it tidy. The 5 core are invariably, Brown, Blue, G/Y, Grey and Black. So I always disconnect the plug cables and then use the Brown and Blue as normal for power from boiler to receiver and then the Grey and Back from CN5 > 1+3 for the switching.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,966
    Thanks Received:
    10,066
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AH I get it now, I thought you meant internal wires :oops:
     
  17. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,966
    Thanks Received:
    10,066
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OP you can but 0.75mm2 5 core flex by the metre at B&Q makes life a lot easier if you use the correct stuff, its not expensive
     
Loading...

Share This Page