Freezer too cold?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, newbie here! I've inherited a beko frost free fridge freezer approx 3 years old I believe. Manu code CFD5834APB. I bought a thermometer because the freezer feels really cold! Its reaching the end of -40. The stick doesn't go any higher. Should I be concerned or have I just got used to my old freezer of 15 years . Many thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Ok so its fridge freezer, depends on its set up, you could have a problem that is the fridge is not getting cold enough so its telling compressor to run, & the fridge probable works by getting its 'cold' from the freezer.
My fridge freezer has a fan & flap, so that opens & blows the cold to the fridge.
Check you have no blockages (yes it could be blocked with ice)

Standard temperatures -18°C freezer (freezing point of brine) fridge +4°C going below -18°C is really pointless. With frost free at some point it needs to heat the cooling bits to defrost likely twice a day. So being too cool will likely mean it it will not defrost.

Sponsored Links
Thank you all. I shall check each point. Hopefully come back with a result

That you for your help everyone. It seemed to correct it self, for a while , until I woke this morning to find it not on at all. Switched off and back on again it made a very low hum for about 2 hours then turned off again. Guess they dont make them like they used to.

If your kitchen or wherever it's situated is cool or cold that can affect the running of it.

If your kitchen or wherever it's situated is cool or cold that can affect the running of it.