Fuseboard in meter cupboard *help*

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been asked if I could change fuseboard at my brothers house. The fuseboard at present is in the meter cupboard outside. In all my time as an electrician I have never found a FB in a meter cupboard.

Can I replace the exsisting FB with a new one and leave it in the cupboard?

Or

Would it be better to move it inside the house by fuseing 16mm t+e by the meter.

Thanks

Carl

Sponsored Links
Hi,
I don't see anything wrong with the existing location so long as there is room for the new unit ! Might be a pain if breakers need to be reset, but if the circuits are sound when you test them, then this should not be a problem as they wont be tripping. ( I take it this enclosure is as dry as Ghandi's sandal. )

However, saying that I would move it indoors personally, access is much better.
Is there a practical place to put C.U inside within 3 meters of the main fuse
?
Would the circuits have to be crimped and sleeved to reach the new position ?

Get some 25mm meter tails and some 16mm earth, then the next sparky can work in the dry !
I hope this helps and doesn't confuse the issue !

I've seen a number of these and they all seem to be in houses that date from the late 70's. Was it in vogue then to do it this way?

Thanks for help

I am semi rewireing so I would not need the extend cable I would replace it. The best location for the CU is in a cupboard which is more than 3M away from the meter. I would have to get some 16mm t+e and a switchfuse for by the meter.

My brother is disabled and wheelchair bound so moving it into the cupboard is the best option I think.

Cost is the only thing that could stop me moving it.

Sponsored Links
ONLY SOME DNO's request a tail length of no more than 3m.

Some are happy with any length, and others want 2m.

I get annoyed with sparks advising what there localDNO stipulates.

Is the CU in a seperate meter box to the meters?