Gaining Part P Registration for DIY

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have seen courses such as this advertised:

http://www.stc.ac.uk/part-time/courses/view.php?id=744

My question is this:
I'm not an electrician by trade, but am interested in doing such a course to help me to do work around my house. Would this course allow me to apply for Part P competent person registration?

If not, how could I go about gaining this status?

Thanks in anticipation guys and keep up the good work on the forum! :)

Sponsored Links
It seems a bit packed to me, 17 x 3 hours to cover 17 units, unless of course they are short units!
What background in electrical work do you have?
Are you wanting to apply to become a domestic installer with the NICEIC or similar, so you can carry out work on other peoples houses?

Don't have any formal training as an electrician, but have read up a lot over the years. I am interested in doing a course such as this for 2 reasons:
1) For pure interest.
2) To enable me to carry out work in my own house mainly, but the ability to do so in others would be advantageous. I just want to be able to do domestic electrical work without having to call in someone qualified or Building Regs unless the task is too difficult, complex or dangerous to tackle myself.

The problem here is that to enrol with someone such as the NICEIC Domestic Installer Scheme you really need to be doing electrical work for a living, it isn't really so you can just carry out work in your own home.
It will cost you a fair bit to get up to speed and enrol with someone like them (enrolment fee, insurances etc) so if you are only doing it for yourself then it will probably be more financially viable to go the Local Authority route for notifiable works.
Maybe still worth your while doing the NVQ2 course out of interest.

Sponsored Links