Garage Conversion

Pal

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

Firstly I must say what a fantastic site this is. It appears to be a mix of DIY'ers of varying standards supported by a number of knowledgeable professionals willing to share information.

Sorry this post is going to be long but as it is my first I thought I should try to explain my level of competence before going into the reason for joining you.

I like to think of myself as a reasonably competant self-taught DIY'er tackling most things, all plumbing and electrics, plus alterations/partitions etc. I have to say I love it, particularly starting a new project and if it is something I have not done before, researching at the library and on the internet, as well as speaking to anyone I can (I have some contacts in the Building Control and Surveyors Office of the Local Authority where I work). If a job needs doing (and my wife has a habit of continually finding new things including major projects) I will firstly think if it can be done myself before getting the tradesmen in. Although it may take an age to complete, balancing these jobs with family life, I do get there in the end.

4 years ago we had a two storey side extension built. The contractor was employed just to build the structure/floor/roof/drainage and internally plaster. I managed to prepare electrics and plumbing in the evenings as the extension went up, finished off all woodwork, put in a downstairs loo, electrics, decoration and constructed a partitioned en-suite to the first floor bedroom. I have now finished!!!!

Anyway before finishing this project we came up with the idea we should get our front drive block paved and why we are at it, convert our integral garage into a room. It followed that we should change the flat roof above it to a pitched one! How mad is that?