Garden strimmer wire replacing

Joined
14 Sep 2010
Messages
177
Reaction score
1
Location
Hertfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

My strimmer has no make stamped on it but I need to replace the wire. Do they come in standard sizes or can you just buy the thread to thread through in absence of buying a unit?

Thanks

Matt
 
Sponsored Links

SFK

Joined
23 Jul 2010
Messages
2,149
Reaction score
518
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Wires come in lots of diameters.
But for most basic electric strimmers 1.5mm or 1.6mm diameter is perfect.

To fit:
Pop off cap.
Remove cartridge
Cut yourself two lengths of say 3m.
Push ends of both into the little securing holes or clips in cartridge.
Wind on both lengths (I do both wires at same time) in direction show by arrows.
Leave 15cm free.
Push these lengths though the two holes as as you push cartridge back in place. ]
Replace cap.

Some wires are here -
I tend to but the 1.5mm or 1,6mm diameter for my electric strimmer:
Note that Poundland currently (Aug2019) also has some, but never tried it to see if any good.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_...trimmer+wire.TRS0&_nkw=strimmer+wire&_sacat=0
 
Last edited:
Joined
14 Sep 2010
Messages
177
Reaction score
1
Location
Hertfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Here's a photo. So I can just buy wire to push through the holes as you say? It doesn't look like it dismantles anymore although I have tried hence why it looks a bit battered!
 

Attachments

  • 20190828_153151 (Copy).jpg
    20190828_153151 (Copy).jpg
    180.1 KB · Views: 63
Joined
14 Sep 2010
Messages
177
Reaction score
1
Location
Hertfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
No I can't get the belt off and I can't see the make in order to buy the exact same one again. How will I know a pre loaded one will fit?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
14 Sep 2010
Messages
177
Reaction score
1
Location
Hertfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Got the belt off at last. Is there still hope? Seems bad to replace a whole strimmer just because of a small part!
 

SFK

Joined
23 Jul 2010
Messages
2,149
Reaction score
518
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Well done.
Yes agreed, always best to try.

This is an okay video showing how its done. Start at 1min.
SFK
 
Joined
14 Sep 2010
Messages
177
Reaction score
1
Location
Hertfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
I should have known there'll be a video on you tube for it, doh! I'll get some string tomorrow and revert, thank you.
 

SFK

Joined
23 Jul 2010
Messages
2,149
Reaction score
518
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Note that there is a bit of a knack to it.
I do not wind tightly. But I do wind both in at the same time (both between a thumb and finger).
As said poundland do sell it, but I never tried it.
I use the 1.6mm from ebay spending about £3.50.

For yours, you wind it all on and then poke it thorough the holes of the belt as you replace the belt (swearing as it suddenly unwinds).
Then you poke it through the two holes in the carrier as you insert into that.
Suggest you use shorter lengths of wire first time you try (say 2 x 1.5m).

SFK
 
Sponsored Links
Top