Gas condensing and blow off pipe outlets

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. I'm new on here and after some advice regarding condensing and blow off outlets. My background is building surveying and I have very little experience on the plumbing side of things so please bear with my poor technical knowledge!

I'm currently surveying housing stock for a social housing provider in preparation for external wall insulation. This involves removing and reinstating lights and many other various items on the external wall of properties as well as extending gas flues.

As regards condensing pipes and blow off pipes - what is the difference? How many of each can a single dwelling have or does this depends on the boiler type/size or number of boilers in the dwelling? From my current knowledge a typical dwelling will only have one condensing pipe outlet, however I'm seeing houses with up to three or maybe four similar looking pipes, some plastic others copper?

Do these so called blow off valves 'spit' water out at force? Is that the reason for them to be re-directed in the direction of the wall?

Finally is there a general minimum length these condensing pipe outlets should protrude from the external wall? From a building surveying side of things I currently find a lot of them only protrude about 15-20mm from the wall and cause staining on the wall below which does look very good, especially on newly rendered dwellings.

Additional information regarding heating sources:
Most of our housing stock have a Worcester 30si combi boiler or a similar but slightly older vaillant model.

N.B. I completed understand the dangers of blocking up gas and boiler vents/pipes. I'm not asking for advice on how to do my job, only information to the above questions which I can interprate myself.

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links