Gas Earth Bonding (again)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.

My daughter has just bought a house and the electrics are, to say the least, in a mess.
Firstly I want to change the consumer unit for a split load job and then sort out the problems from there.
As far as I can see there is no earth rod to be seen, so will need to get that sorted.
Main query is earthing of gas pipework. Do I just need to run a 10mm cable from the consumer unit to the gas pipework (within 600mm of the meter) or are there other points ?
Do I need to bond the gas/water pipes at the gas boiler.
Any advice will be appreciated.
I am an electrician but spent the last 25 years on factory mainenance so out of touch with current regs.

Sponsored Links
Bonding the pipework at the boiler may be a suitable place to provide equipotential bonding. It depends on the layout of the house.

As far as I can see at the moment it is an old TT supply.
At least it is the old Twin Tails coming in from outside but they have used coax between the main fuse and the meter.
The boiler is in an "utility room" at ground level. with facilities for washer and tumble drier.

Sponsored Links
COAX???? eeep....

I hope you don't mean actual COAX.. as in television aerial cable...?

what's your definition of "COAX"?

I can't find a CCC for co-ax in the regs....Can anyone help me? ;)

Bryn, if you need to ask these questions you are not competent to do the job.

This is not a personal slight (most 'electricians' are not competent to do this job) it is simply an informed opinion... and I am informed.

Sorry if I offended you guys by calling "concentric" cable "coax".
As far as I am aware concentric is 2 dimensional and coax is 3.
Anyway, I agrre that I am not "competent" as far as the regs are concerned, I have not done any house bashing for many many years, but have been deeply involved in electrical maintenance at industry level.